Signature Adrian Franklin │Anti-Museum

Meet Andrian Franklin on February 21 on Fluctuart and discover his new book “Anti-museum”.

The book

Anti-Museum traces the evolution of the anti-museum as a concept and as it was realized in practice. Based on 5 case studies: the New Museum [and PS1] in New York, Mona in Australia, Art42 in Paris; Donald Judd’s book in Marfa, Texas, and the Collection of Art Brut, in Lausanne, Switzerland, assess their scope to reverse the objectives and practices of conventional art museums and their potential to involve public museums in new ways.

It shows how these Anti-museums seek to infuse a relational and theatrical vitality in the objects they exhibit, connecting them to the contexts of their realization, to their social life outside the museum, to the lives of visitors through their transformative capacities of change and to be a place of dialogue, exchange and transformation, rather than teaching. The attempt to animate, not enlighten; change rather than improve; they hoped that people would be lost rather than “saved”.

The autor
Adrian Franklin, sociologist and anthropologist whose work has focused on a wide range of cultural fields, including art and art museums, design, collection, cities, festivals and travel/mobility. Recent books include Anti-museum (Routledge);The Making of Mona (Penguin); Urban Life (Wise); Retro: A Guide to Mid-20th Century Design Renewal (Bloomsbury). He has published more than 100 journal articles and book chapters.

Here to participate.

Rencontre et signature Adrian Franklin │Anti-musée

Venez à la rencontre d’Andrian Franklin le 21 Février sur Fluctuart et découvrez son nouveau livre « Anti-Museum ».

Le livre
Anti-Museum retrace l’évolution de l’anti-musée en tant que concept et tel qu’il a été réalisé dans la pratique. Basé sur 5 études de cas: le New Museum [et PS1] à New York, Mona en Australie, Art42 à Paris; Le livre de Donald Judd à Marfa, au Texas, et la Collection de l’Art Brut, à Lausanne, en Suisse, évaluent leur portée pour renverser les objectifs et les pratiques des musées d’art conventionnels et leur potentiel pour impliquer les musées publics de nouvelles façons.

Il montre comment ces Anti-musées cherchent à insuffler une vitalité relationnelle et théâtrale dans les objets qu’ils exposent, en les reliant aux contextes de leur réalisation, à leur vie sociale en dehors du musée, à la vie des visiteurs via leurs capacités transformatrices de le changement et être un lieu de dialogue, d’échange et de transformation, plutôt que d’enseignement. La tentative d’animer, pas d’éclairer; changer plutôt qu’améliorer; ils espéraient que les gens seraient perdus plutôt que « sauvés ».

L’auteur
Adrian Franklin, sociologue et anthropologue dont les travaux se sont concentrés sur un large éventail de domaines culturels, notamment l’art et les musées d’art, le design, la collection, les villes, les festivals et les voyages / mobilité. Les livres récents incluent Anti-museum (Routledge); La fabrication de Mona (Pingouin); Vie urbaine (Sage); Rétro: guide du renouvellement du design du milieu du 20e siècle (Bloomsbury). Il a publié plus de 100 articles de revues et chapitres de livres.